Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Allthough I might not be too pleased with the first impression that I got from the highly expected new output by Dutch Doom/Occult Rock (whatever one wants to call it) favourite THE DEVIL’S BLOOD, but giving up on them is no option – yet. Right now I am not able to figure out enough words for a whole review, since I did not feel like listening to the album again and again.

“The Thousandfold Epicentre” clearly needs more time to get me, unlike their previous work, which caught me by storm. As I pointed out before via facebook: Most songs sound too much alike, climatic structures are lacking and as far as I’m concerned, no outstanding “Hit” to be found. It seems that all this hype that evolved around THE DEVIL’S BLOOD, for now is over for me, but I hope that the upcoming release-show will convince me again. And just like the music shall speak for itself, let mastermind Selim Lemouchi speak (and his sister Farida sing for us) for himself, while trying to understand the ideas behind his music and lyrics.

 

Tracklist:

1. Unending Singularity

2. On The Wings Of Gloria

3. Die The Death

4. Within The Charnel House Of Love

5. Cruel Lover

6. She

7. The Thousandfold Epicentre

8. Fire Burning

9. Everlasting Saturnalia

10. The Madness Of Serpents

11. Feverdance

Please note that the entire documentary/interview is available only in the dutch language and with english subtitles!

